2021 Henderson & McLean Medals Awards Winners

Lachlan Cassidy and Stacey Matthews scoop major awards at Henderson & McLean Medals night.

The McDonald's Ballarat FNL rounded out a tumultuous year with the staging of the prestigious Henderson and McLean Medals. 

In a break from tradition, the awards were held as an online event and set the standard for streaming of awards. 

The league is delighted to detail the winners of all senior awards and wish everyone the best for the new 2022 season. 


Henderson Medal (Senior Football) 

• Winner - Lachlan Cassidy (Sebastopol FNC)

• Runner Up - Jack Walker (Melton FNC) 

George King Medal (Reserves Football) 

• Winner - Jack McClure (East Point FNC) 

• Runners Up - Connor Stone (Bacchus Marsh FNC), James Taylor (Melton FNC), Simon Butler (Sebastopol FNC) 

Dick Rees Memorial Trophy (Under 19 Football) 

• Winners - Luke Gray (Ballarat FNC) & Jack Sampi (East Point FNC) 

• Runners Up - Josh Carlyle-Marks (East Point FNC) & Murphy Boyd (Sunbury FNC) 

Tony Locket Medal - Senior Football Leading Goal Kicker 

• Dylan Conway (Melton South FNC) - 35 goals 

Under 19 Leading Goal Kicker 

• Dylan Jobson (Melton FNC) - 36 goals 

McDonald's Ballarat Goal of The Year 

• Jai Harvey (Sebastopol FNC) - Round 8 

McDonald's Ballarat Mark of The Year 

• Jacob Lohmann (Lake Wendouree FNC) - Round 2


Jim Gull Medal - Reserves Football Leading Goal Kicker 

• Taylor Stewart (Sebastopol FNC) - 34 goals

Ballarat FNL Senior Football Team of The Year 


Luke Wynd (BAL), Ryan Hobbs (NB), Jordyn Cotter (MEL)


Tyson Lever (SUN), Bailey Van de Heuval (BAL), Tony Lockyer (SEB)


Nick Rippon (LW), Matthew Johnston (EP), Lachlan Cassidy (SEB)


Josh Chatfield (NB), Jake Owen (BM), Braedan Kight (MEL)


Jack Walker (MEL), Dylan Conway (MS), Andrew Hooper (BAL)


Daniel Burton (BM), Lachlan George (RED), Riley Polkinghorne (NB)


Cooper Craig-Peters (RED), Joel Ottavi (EP), Jonathan O’Brien (NB), Cameron McCallum (NB)

“Mick Malthouse” Coach of The Year 

• Brendan McCartney - North Ballarat FNC 

“Harry Harris” Administrator of The Year 

• Dean Hetherington - East Point FNC 

Sportsman’s Association of Australia (Ballarat - Rookie of The Year)

• Cooper Craig-Peters - Redan FNC 

Senior Umpire of The Year 

• Adrian Tinetti 


Sally McLean Medal (A Grade Netball) 

• Winner - Stacey Matthews (North Ballarat FNC) 

• Runner Up - Akira McCormack (Melton South) 

B Grade Netball Best & Fairest 

• Winner - Perri Fenton (Ballarat FNC) 

• Runner Up - Jacqui Clifton (Lake Wendouree FNC) 

C Grade Netball Best & Fairest 

• Winner - Kirsty McLean (Ballarat FNC) 

• Runners Up - Rachael Wilson (East Point FNC) & Tilitha Hunt (Melton FNC) 

D Grade Netball Best & Fairest 

• Winner - Elyse McGenniskan (Ballarat FNC) 

• Runner Up - Teagan Tiley (Melton FNC) 

E Grade Netball Best & Fairest 

• Winner - Joanna Aquilina (Melton FNC) 

• Runners Up - Georgie Cue (East Point FNC), Graeci Shawcross (Lake Wendouree), Amanda Borley (Melton FNC) 

19 & Under Netball Best & Fairest 

• Winner - Annie Bisinella (Lake Wendouree) 

• Runners Up - Grace Valele (Melton South FNC) & Brydi Hutchinson (North Ballarat) 

Netball Coach of The Year 

• Katie Keighrey - Lake Wendouree FNC 

Netball Coordinator of The Year 

• Melissa Dawson - Melton South FNC 

Ballarat FNL Netball Team of The Year 


  • Grace Valele (MS)


  • Emma Ryan (EP)


  • Kara Hart (LW)


  • Soli Ropati (MS)


  • Stacey Matthews (NB)


  • Akira McCormack (MS)


  • Uneeq Palavi (MEL)


  • Madison Selmon (NB)
  • Emma Church (NB)
  • Georgia Cann (SEB)
  • Nikki Allen (SEB)
  • Gina McCartin (NB)

Merv & Mary Howard Memorial Shield - Champion Club Award 

  • Winner - East Point

Club Points:

East Point FNC - 113

North Ballarat FNC - 107

Lake Wendouree FNC - 91

Ballarat FNC - 79

Redan FNC - 73.5

Melton FNC - 64.5

Sebastopol FNC - 62

Melton South FNC - 56.5

Sunbury FNC - 56.5

Darley FNC - 47.5

Bacchus Marsh - 36

Congratulations to all of our 2021 award winners and thank you to our clubs, players, coaches, volunteers, supporters and sponsors.

Keep up to date or get in touch.

© BFNL. All rights reserved.
Powered by Red Onion Creative.


1431 Mair Street,
Ballarat, 3353, VIC